Sex on the Beach

Not beautiful, but special: Women’s beach in Trieste, Italy. Men are kept behind the white wall in the back.

On my way to EMSOC Rijeka, I spent a day in Trieste. Trying to find a place for swimming, I came across a very peculiar place – a beach seperated according to sex. It had a “bath for men” and a “bath for women and children”, aparently a tradition going back to the 19th century. I’d say – a hell of a concept! – but as they noted themselves: maybe a bit out of time..


I took three nice shots of the city, then I decided to take an earlier bus out of Italy.

Leave a comment

Filed under En route, Gender Defender

Leave a Reply

